The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The argument presented has various assumptions and loopholes, also the argument leaves many questions unanswered. The claims made by the author sounds bigoted and partisan.

Firstly, the author claims that the company tested the produce, however what the author did not mention was the size of the sample. The question of how many cans out of those cans which were returned were tested remains unanswered. It could be that the testing was done only on few cans. Looking at the number of the cans which were returned, the test should have been on almost all the cans picked up by random.

Secondly, the author of the article claims that out of eight chemicals which cause dizziness and nausea, only three were found by the chemists of Promofoods. What the author fails to answer is whether or not the results are lucid and not fabricated. the argument does not contain any information about the sanctity of the tests done. When it comes to consumer's health the author should have also included the results from some third-party food quality testers to make the argument more reasonable.

Lastly, the chemists at Promofoods claim that small amounts three chemicals which are commonly blamed for causing dizziness and nausea are found naturally in all canned foods. What is not mentioned it the amount. While comparing a product which has some chemicals which are not desirable, the amount should have been mentioned. It can be small in the chemist's lingo but can cause harm to humans.

In conclusion, if the argument had contained answers to the questions discussed above, it would have made the argument more reasonable to make the people believe the claim that the culprit is not the canned food sold by Promofoods