The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is full of fallacies and loopholes. The author states that all employees will be benefited from taking the course.

First and foremost, the author of the argument tells us that many other companies have had their employees take the course which led to the increase in productivity. However, the author fails to delineate as to how productivity was increased by just taking the reading course. Had the argument stated the before and after changes with the employees, or any scores of a standardized test, it would have given strength to the argument. Also, the sources of this information must also be cited so that the argument or the claims become more believable.

Secondly, in the argument, examples of two graduates have been taken into consideration. One of them was able to read a 500-page report in just two hours, and other rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. It may also be true that the reading speed -also known as words per minute (WPM)- of the former graduate was already good and after taking the course, it significantly increased. Moreover, the latter one had the skill set or the managerial skills, which the company saw, and rewarded. While it is true that speed reading is good, it also has its own cons.

Last but not least, the conclusion of the argument blatantly states that all the employees of the company would benefit greatly after taking the Easy Read course. The author claims that those people who already read fast will also be benefitted from the course. It should be taken into consideration that there are jobs within the publishing companies to find errors and correct them. If the employees who work at the correction department tend to read faster, they might remiss their duties and some mistakes will take place.

In conclusion, the author of the argument, who is the personnel director of the president of a publishing company should add some evidence in the argument.