The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

There are many benefits to studying history. But to study history to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times is not one of them. People today have a different outlook on life and the world as compared to the past. It is simply because of the advancements and inventions through science and technology which has made the world both, easy as well as difficult for us human beings but it is nowhere close to the lives of the people in the past.

The study of history unravels many mysteries. People living in today's generation are very much different in a lot of aspects when we compare it to history. For example, in earlier times, women were considered to do the household works and the men were considered to go out and find the work in factories. It was only after the world war when the women, who worked in factories while their husbands served their country, continued to work even when the war ended. which led to the industrial revolution.

There are numerous instances in today's world when a disease outbreak is controlled with the help of science. Looking back in the history when there were no medicine or any way to control the contamination, people used to suffer a lot and in many cases decimation of thousands of people took place simply because of lack of medicine or vaccination. Smallpox, which is eradicated now took the lives of more than half of North America's population. But today, similar contagious diseases, like Ebola, is controlled and vaccinations are helping millions of people to get better.

History also tells us how the people used to live in earlier times, like spartan with a bare minimum requirement and hunted their own food.

It seems like yesterday only when people started conquering land and started fighting wars for power, which was internecine for both sides. For example, throughout history, we have seen the European countries fighting with each other, showing their powers. But now, situations have changed and the mindset of the countries have been matured. The same countries which fought for supremacy have now formed a European Union, in which they trade and make sure that the neighboring countries have enough.

In conclusion, the lives which are depicted to us by historians and books, as to how the people lived in the earlier times is different from the lives which people live today. The vicissitudes of life in the past and vicissitudes of life in today's world are totally different.