The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Environmental degradation is the biggest concern of our times as it presents a very hellish future with increasing pollution, extinction of flora and fauna and depleting ground water. It needs immediate and strict addressal by all individuals across the globe. Consumer-generated waste is one of the important factors causing environmental problems and something needs to be done to regulate this, but I don't believe that imposing a strict limit on the amount of trash that would be accepted from each household is the right solution for that. Households will continue to generate trash and if there are limits on trash collection, they will find some other devious ways to dispose off the trash. Like adding self's trash in neighbour's, throw off extra trash in nearby waste lands or water bodies or anonymously litter in public places etc. Such measures will only create more nusance, promote ill-will among the people and is a non-sustainable solution.

The right way to tackle the problem of consumer-generated trash would be addressing the root cause of the problem through a behaviour change in the people which is possible only through increased awareness on the criticality of the issue and educating them how to collectively work towards environmental degradation. Encouraging environmental habits like reduced use of plastics, ways to reduce household trash, recycling organic waste to form manure for plants and separating organic and inorganic wastes at home would be more beneficial. There should be strict rules around implementing these practices like making it mandatory for all retail stores and hawkers to use cloth or paper bags instead of plastic bags and charge extra for them or restaurants to use extra chargeable wooden cutlery instead of plastic ones. Such measures will aide in bringing the desired behaviour change in people like carrying their own bags to the market or using own utensils thereby, organically reducing trash generation. Other measures that are prevalent these days is housing societies providing each house a red and a green dustbin for inorganic and organic waste respectively.

Further, government should incentivize local bodies to take initiatives for recycling trash and maybe organize weekend workshops and drives for the public to participate. This would not only increase the awareness but would also serve as a platform to educate them on environment friendly practices. School's curriculum should also cover these practices as present kids are the future of tomorrow who should be aware of the consequences of not acting righteously on this matter now.

The solution to this alarming environmental problem lies in implementing a long-term sustainable solution which is behaviour change of the citizens and not just limiting the trash collected from each household.