The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

A leader is a mentor and a guide to whom people look up to for defining the right direction for them and help them achieve their goals. Thus, leader is someone who is responsible for the growth, well-being and prosperity of its subjects. So to measure the effectiveness of a leader, examining the well-being of his/her team would be one of the good metrics to look at and extending this to a nation, it would mean analysing the well-being of its citizens.

The premise of a democracy is electing leaders for the people and by the people so that these elected individuals can collectively work for the growth and progress of all its citizens. They implement policies and laws, bring reforms in every field concerning the common man from trade, agriculture, education, employment, healthcare, infrastructure and so on. Since all these measures impact the lives of citizens in day to day, the efficacy of these reforms would positively improve its people's lives and their well-being. Even in the ancient times when the concept of democracy didn't exist and the kings and the queens ruled, same metrics existed to understand the effectiveness of the rulers. A kingdom would be called prosperous if the people were happy and well which included access to food, shelter, clothing, employment, medical care this and peaceful environment.

An example of weak leadership resulting in the downfall of a country would be Theresa May who moved ahead with Brexit without proper strategy in place and resulted in huge loss for the people of UK in terms of trade, businesses, movement within UK, job opportunities and eventually their mental well-being. Conclusively, it led to her stepping down from her role because it had a very deleterious impact on its citizen's lives.

One may argue that sometimes even when leaders are efficient, there are external factors that may impact the well-being of its citizens like outbreak of a deadly disease or a natural calamity or a terrorist attack. But this argument is incomplete as such situations are the real tests for a country's leaders. Any such external circumstance would be transient in nature if the leaders are effective enough to handle such critical situations properly and take corrective measures to not let such a thing happen again or be better prepared if it happens again. Thus, it can be concluded that strong leadership would mean happy and prospering citizens and nation.