Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Eiffel Tower was not built in a day. It was a result of months of planning and hardwork to construct a wonder like that. So is true for most of the innovations and masterpieces that we come across. Research is the pith of every invention hence, government shouldn't stop funding any scientific researches whose consequences aren't clear. What may be ambiguous today may shape into a magnificent product/result that people failed to envision now.

Discovery of electricity, invention of phone or the first airplane were all a result of research by great scientists of that time. Even though they faced a lot of hurdles on their path to making these great discoveries, but today we are extremely thankful the authority at that time, the Church who couldn't foresee what he was trying to explain because of their dogmatic beliefs. But it is our good fortune that he didn't give up. Times have changed now where are societies are now open and unbiased to new inventions and hence, what happened with Albert Einstein is not what we want to happen with our budding scientists and their reseach therefore, governments cannot not sponsor researches which are in need.

Humans have always been very curious about studying and exploring the universe since the medieval times. From Aryabhatta's times' primitive telescope to the today's advanced telescopes, it has been a long evolving journey based on research. If such initiatives were not supported by the government, humanity would have never landed on Moon and Mars or discovered the vastness of the Universe. Designing the perfect air craft, right accessories to capture, stimulating favourable environment for the astronauts travelling etc. is all a result of humongous amount of research sponsored by the National Governments to make these missions a great success. Be it NASA of USA or ISRO of India, none of them had been successful if not for funds from their respective governments.

Only a few countable exceptions may be called as eureka moments like Archeimedy's Buoyancy Principle but even then, the development of its entire premises and scientific explanantion required a lot of research and time. Thereby, it can be concluded that setting aside one off exceptional cases, all major scientific researches requires patience and resources to reach to the final product state. And often, not everyone will be able to see the worth of an idea. So what would help government is to recruit a committee of worthy and visionary erudites who can evaluate the merit of a research proposal on lucidly across some measurable performance metrics and accordingly advice the government.