Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The success of an individual is the result of one's hardwork and toil combined with constructive feedback from people that helps one improve their work. This constructive feedback can be both positive and negative and is quintessential as no individual is perfect or knows it all. Diverse views from other individuals only help refine the work by incorporating different perspectives that one may have missed. So then the question comes who is the right audience to take feedback from? It has to be someone who understands and have some knowledge about the field, is unbiased, non-prejudiced, pragmatic and logical, and who is not blinded by any personal motives or envy against the individual. This means that such judgements are meaningful only when taken from this small set of people and not everyone and anyone.

Take example of a political candidate contesting elections. There would be so many people expressing their judgements against or in favour for that candidate. But do we trust them all? The answer is 'probably not' since, it is difficult to trust anyone without them establishing their credibility. They could be driven by their personal vendetta against that candidate and may misrepresent facts. In such cases, who we trust are the estimable people belonging to this field or public figures who are unbiased and make sense. Media also thus, covers such prominent personalities only in all their debate sessions, opinion shows etc. that help public understand facts and for an opinion.

Similar is the case when a new digital product is launched like a mobile phone or a tablet. Both the users and the company look out for the famous, established and credible reviewers for their reviews to make a purchase decision and improve the product respectively. This so happens because these reviewers are not some random people but the subject matter experts of the field and whose opinions matter and make sense.

Along with teaching the importance of judgement, we are also taught whose judgement are most crucial and should be paid heed to. Like when in school, we always look at our teachers for correcting us and not really our peers who are at almost same level as us. Hence, it can be concluded that any critical judgement has weight only wen it comes from experts of that field. Though there may be a one-off case where a feedback from a person not of that field or expertise may hold value but it is very important to question the basis of such a feedback. It cannot be a gut feeling or intution but should have some very strong basis which is unlikely since the individual lacks knowledge of that particular subject. Would you then in such a scenario trust that feedback and act on it? I would certainly not.