The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The writer proposes for reducing the environmental problems which are caused by consumer-generated waste, there should be laws legislated in order to limit the amount of trash which is accepted from each household. In my point of view, I don’t believe that this action would be a conducive action due to the the following reasons.

First of all, limiting the amount of trash accepted from each household doesn’t necessarily reduce the consumption. People will keep buying their demanded products and by establishing this limitation, they might leave their trash somewhere else which might be even more problematic for the environment. For instance, there have been evidence about people who put their trash at their neighbor’s trash can to get rid of the bad smell of the trash. Imagine by stricter laws and penalties, myriads of people will just dispose their trash anywhere else even in the nature.

On the other hand, the best way to mitigate the environmental pollutions is to establish a culture which all people learn to separate their wet and dry waste which can improve the efficiency of the recycling process. For example, the government can enact laws to charge household who don’t separate their recycling and non recycling waste and this action will eventually lead to a lower amount of the production of mixed waste.

In Addition, the government can assist to reduce the pollution significantly by investing money on producing biodegradable materials such as paper straws and containers. The government can allocate grants for research companies and universities to produce degradable products. Besides producing degradable products, finding new ways to recycle all types of waste can lessen the environmental problems considerably. Taking papers as an instance, recycling the papers will not only stymie cutting the trees, it will also reduce the amount of paper garbage found in the nature. There has been also research done about how to use plastic to recycle it to clothing materials by which all the plastic materials can be reutilized for new purposes.

In Conclusion, putting limits on the trash accepted from the households will not ameliorate environmental problems. For the best impact, the best way is encouraging the citizens to separate their waste and investing on the production of biodegradable materials.