In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The writer proposes the increase of the budget allocated by the government for water sports. To support this recommendation the writer believes that the Mason river is rarely used because of the limited amount of budget which the government considered in order to maintain the riverside recreational facilities. Additionally the writer believes that due to the complaints of the residence about the water quality of the river, by cleaning it, utilizing of the river for water sports will increase. These facts, however are logically flawed as they stand because of the following reasons.

First of all, there is not enough evidence about the area that people perform their water sport activities. There might be a lake or another river close to the city center which the residents use for these means. The writer has to consider that increasing the budget for the Mason River as a center of water sport activities will actually increase the number of people utilizing the river or not. To make this statement more convincing, the writer has to provide more information about the preferred areas of these activities.

Secondly, the complains about the smell of the water might not be because of inhibiting water sport activities. dirty water and bad smell will affect the health of the residents. There is no proof that cleaning the river will actually increase watersport activities. The writer has to consider other features of the river such as the water level, the tempreture and the safety of the river which prohibit the residents to do water sports in this river. By bringing evidence about the desired conditions of the river for water sporting, the writer can prove that cleaning the river will enhance these activities there.

Finally because of the lack of evidence that utilizing the river for water sports will go up after cleaning the river, it might be a better idea to invest money on maintaining the river rather than establishing water sport facilities there. The best way is to design a survey where people actually want the government to invest this money. There might be other needs in the city like hospitals or schools which residents prefer the government to consider rather than just free time activities. In summary, the statement could be more convincing by bringing evidence that the river is actually a good option for sport activities taking the river features other than water quality into consideration.

In addition inclination of people to water sport isn't a logic reason to put devote more money on sport activties and there might be other aspects of the city such as education or public transport which people desire to progress more than water sport facilities.