To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people hold the idea that in order to understand the principal characteristics of the society, smaller cities have to be studied, on the contrary, the writer of the paragraph suggests that the features of the society can be most understood by investigating major cities. I profoundly support the statement of the writer because due to the population of the cities, more aspects can be examined in these areas.

Rural areas have always proved to preserve the cultural beliefs of a nation better than cities, however, the higher population of the cities allows researchers to find features in the cities which are absent in rural lives .The larger the city is, the more diverse cultures and backgrounds are available and these areas are the best option to compare these dissimilarities. In huge cities such as Newyork, with a myriad of different cultures, living styles and ideas, researchers have a larger pool of samples to examine in contrast to smaller cities which are more homogenous and a big portion of the are have the same beliefs and backgrounds.

In addition, stress and pressure in larger cities, usually shows the dark sides of the personality of people. Comparing to country sides, life in mega cities is more stressing and more affected by traffic, pollution and higher living expenses. The impact and the reactions to these stressing features can be examined more efficiently in people facing it rather that people with a more relaxing lifestyle.

Besides the population and stress, big cities are more modernized and there are numerous people who migrated to cities in order to pursue their ways of educational and career progress and many of these immigrants have rural backgrounds. This will give the investigators to have both rural and urban people under examination in contradiction to urban cities.

In summary, large cities contain the best pool of data for society research thank to their large population and diversity and besides these many options, the impact of stress and difficulties is more applied on urban people which shows a greater reaction. And finally due to the migration of people from small to big cities, large cities can also be researched to investigate the impacts of the cities on rural people.