The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Self-knowledge is an ability which is discerned after facing diverse experiences in life. The writer cites that in order to accomplish to this statement of knowledge, the familiar has to be rejected. The fact that unfamiliar aspects of the personality face us with a new understanding of our features is undisputable, however, I believe that by considering the familiar, we can learn the real aspects of our lives.

The progress of our personality, is based on the environment we grew up in as well as the experiences we faced. Numerous Psychotherapists who are dealing with clients with different circumstances, allocate some of their sessions to increase their understandings about the backgrounds of their patients. People with various backgrounds, show different behaviors. In order to discern these features, the events which contributed to these actions should be rooted out. It is pointless to search for unfamiliar facts which sometimes never show up in specific personalities. For instance, there are people who lived in poverty and these sufferings evoke features which have never been induced in wealthy people. Knowledge with the background, contributes to a better understanding about the reasons of specific features of the person.

In addition, unfamiliar facts face people with the undiscovered aspects of their personalities, however, repeating the same responses and activities in life will make people familiar with these patterns. If someone doesn’t show a specific pattern, it is not established in his or her personality and ignoring the familiar patterns and focusing on finding undiscovered features will be futile to develop self-knowledge.

Although people never know how they’re going to act after facing an unpredicted situation, but their response is usually based on their backgrounds. For example, if we put various people in the same condition such as a decline in food supplements, individuals who had this experience in their life, know better how to deal with this problem which is due to their familiarity with their abilities.

In conclusion, the knowledge of people about themselves is based on their experiences and knowledge about how they gained these experiences. By rejecting the familiar facts, the progress of self-knowledge will be futile due to the importance of known aspects have on the evolution of the personality.