The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The idea that questioning the authority will improve the well-being of a society has been always a debate between different mindsets. Some people hold that questioning the authority will improve the success of the society, I however, profoundly believe that questioning the authority of the nation will enhance unruliness and can have detrimental effects on the safety of the society.

First of all, passing laws takes a long process with a myriad of research and considering many features of the society which is hidden from ordinary people of the nation. People in charge of authority are aware of the advantages and disadvantages of laws and only legitimate laws after years of consulting and investigating the potential outcomes of these actions. People however, might not have enough understanding of some of these rules and might engage their emotions in their decisions. Their opinions are mostly not realistic and have other expenses to become true that’s why the best people to decide the authority are experts aware of all the details of the legal system.

However, there were governments which enacted laws just for their own benefits, laws which don’t consider the nations natural rights such as freedom of opinion or women rights, but opposing them has to follow legal progresses in order to prevent riots and unruliness. If everyone starts to question the authority, it will eventually lose its power and less people will be committed to it.

Additionally, there are diverse lifestyles in the nation. Some rules might benefit part of the society while it might hurt the other part. For example, in America, there are contradictions about the tax laws with followers of capitalism believe that business owners have to pay less tax because the business opportunities they provided while on the contrary, middle class citizens believe that these will put all the responsibilities on the middle class people. Another instance is drug usage which some people want to be legal opposed to others who are followers of banning them. If everyone questions the authority, all of the people will be unhappy due to the diverse lifestyles and preferences.

In summary, I highly believe that if all people question the authority, it will eventually lead to unruliness and people are not familiar with all aspects of passing laws and their emotions might overshadow their logic. Because of different demands in the society, there will always be people who are not happy with the current law so the best thing to improve a well-being of a society is to send the complains to authorities who are more expert about these laws.