The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

People nowadays are more aware of environmental problems than we were decades ago, and therefore proposed that towns and cities to enforce strict limitations on the amount of consumer-generated trash they would accept from each household. I agree with the principle that we need to attend to environmental issues caused by trash disposal, I totally don’t agree with employing limitations on the amount of trash each household dispose. I’ll first illustrate the difficulties and possible severe consequences of the policy if adopted by government officials, and then suggest possible solutions to solve the problem in the claim. Moreover, I’d like to discuss views that would challenge my position and suggestions and my point of view towards these criticisms.

First and foremost, the implementation of such policy and its enforcement can take very long time, and it can be pricy to redesign the waste disposal system to adopt the new policy. Adopting the new policy means massive purchases of new garbage trucks and the establishment of a system to measure the volume of trash each household dispose. Hearings and votes need to be conducted to see the public’s consensus on spending the government funding on reducing the quota of their waste produced each day. On the one hand, the public have a great chance to reject the policy in that it doesn’t provide positive incentives for them. On the other hand, even if the public are willing to adopt the policy, it can take even longer for the new system to be ready for execution. However beneficial to the environment the policy can be, the prolonged process dwindles the effectiveness it promotes.

On the other hand, the policy potentially would increase the volume of illegal disposed trash, which would further exacerbate environmental problems. Because the policy curbs the amount of trash each household can dispose, it doesn’t mean households would decease the amount of trash they generate, and households may inappropriately dump their extra trash. The unprocessed trash has the possibility to create more pollution, for example, the liquid in batteries can contaminate soil and water and be brought into grown vegetables, rivers and seas when travels with water. If there is no facility to attend to the extra amount of trash, illegal and improper dumping can cause much more damage to the environment as well as ourselves.

With these being said, it doesn’t mean there aren’t better and friendlier ways to reduce the amount of trash. The government should generate policies that can create positive incentives for garbage disposal industries and consumers to create more eco-friendly ways to dispose trash. For instance, the government can promote tax relaxation on industries that promote and participate in effective composting products to reduce the amount of burnt landfills, as well as reduce the charge of trash disposal fees on families who participate in trash composting programs. When coupled with positive incentives, policies on trash disposal can be more effective and easier to exert.

Some may say that eco-friendly policies, such as the promotion of trash composting products, also take long time to the fulfillment and are expensive. First, I’d like to argue that compared to expense on dealing with illegal and improper dumped trash, the cost of promoting waste composting products is way lower, and it can be paid by private sectors. Second, it may take a long time for individuals to adopt the new trash policies, but the positive incentives they create would make people more aware of environmental issues.

To conclude, I don’t agree with the brutal claim that the government should impose policies to limit the amount of trash families can dump, for it is not cost-effective and can cause further damage. I believe policies with positive incentives, such as promoting trash composting products, can better solve environmental issues caused by consumer-generated trash.