Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The reason purports that heroes and role models regarded by society can represent the characters of the society, because the they reveal the society’s highest ideals. I don't agree that the character of a society can be revealed for scrutinizing the heroes and role models the society aspire to. I would like to consider the set of values the majority of share and the educational level the majority of the society have as the indicators to tell the character of a society. Because they represent what the society cherish the most now and what they anticipate and value for the future generations.

First, I would like to delineate why I don’t agree with the statement that the character of the society can be seen through the lens of the characters of individuals they adore. We are living in a world imbued with massive social media, and despite the fact that people can easily fantasize over wealthy celebrities, it very easy to become heroes and role models just as Andy Warhol used to anticipate. For example, people get famous by uploading self-made music online and get regarded as role models by young adults, which doesn’t necessarily mean they are the highest ideals of the whole society. Thus, the fleeting fame of role models and heroes are signs of phenomenon at the time, and can’t be accountable for the character of the society.

On the other hand, the character of the society is too elusive a description to fathom, so here I’d like to consider the set of values the public share and the educational level of the public as two characters of a society. I’d like to explain first how the set of values the majority share counts as a character of the society. The set of values the commonplace share in a society represent what they cherish now and live by. For example, when gay marriage was legitimized in the U.S. in 2015, it represented the majority’s acceptance of the minority and they respect towards the minority’s rights. At the meantime, with the majority of society’s acceptance, and adoption of values they cherish, it also revealed the progress and willingness of creating a fair and inclusive society.

Besides the set of values the society cherish and live by, educational levels can be another indicator to show the character of the society in that it reveals how much the society invests in educating their future generations and anticipate what society they want to create for the future. China used to have very low legal literacy rate due to unaffordable education to the general public. The situation changed when it uses all the surplus capital in educational investment and makes basic education free to the public. Now, China has the human capital in most advanced technology areas and have the most legal literacy rate among the world. The Chinese example showcases how educational level of the society can represent the society’s anticipation and hope for its future, and how the society employs strategies to achieve its goals.

To conclude, the heroes and role models considered as the highest ideals of a society can’t represent the character of the society, because they don’t show what the society cherishes and what it aspires. Indeed, the characters of a society can be unveiled through scrutinizing the set of values the public follow and embrace, and the educational level the general public have to show what future they anticipate.