The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

every year tonnes of waste is generated by people in towns and cities which is one of the major causes for environmental problems. The best way to solve problems caused by consumer generated waste is to impose strict limits on the amount of trash accepted from each household. I agree with the above statement for the following reasons.

By imposing limit to amount of trash accepted, people will try to reduce the waste they create everyday.

they will try to recycle the waste or try to use items which leaves little amount of waste. For instance in the process of reducing waste, he or she will use bio degradable or reusable bags for shopping. they will try to reduce the wastage from food. study suggest that on an average each household dumps around 6 pounds of trash every day.

For instance if the limit is set to 3 pounds, the amount of trash produced decreases by half, which is a significant reduce that helps in solving environmental pollution like soil pollution due to the trash.

every day tonnes of waste is burned to destroy it which in turn adds to air pollution. waste which contains plastics contain very harmful chemicals which on burning will release harmful carbons into the air causing severe lung diseases and deplete ozone layer. By limiting waste, the amount of trash burnt is reduced which will promote environmental non-violence.

Another major issue for environment is polluting the water bodies with trash. This causes the aquatic animals to die and also causes many harmful diseases to mankind. According to studies every year 3.5 million aquatic animals die and 1 million people suffer from diseases like cholera due to the harmful water. So reducing the trash will inhibit the amount of waste dumped into lakes and rivers which will help in solving environmental problems.

However there can be many ways to control environmental problems. trash being the key contributor to environmental pollution. The best way to limit consumer waste is to limit the trash accepted from each household.