“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.”

There are many ways to teach others. The argument present hypothesizes that the best way to teach is to focus on the positive actions that people make but it does not address the complexity of teaching and learning. Focusing on positive actions and providing praise for such actions is effective with children and adults but it is also important to learn from the negative actions of oneself and others. Therefore to claim that the best way to learn is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones is too extreme as it is important to learn from examples of bad actions such those from history and our modern day; such lessons to be learned from are Hitler’s negative actions, racism and hate-crimes in the civil rights movement and daily bullying in schools.

When parenting, there are many books and strategies on how to successfully teach one’s child as he/she develops and learns how to move through the world appropriately. There is a focus on praising positive behaviors in many homes and schools with young children as children crave a sense of belonging and positive feedback. For example, if a child is throwing their food around, seeking negative attention and the negative attention is not given, they may stop that behavior. If they begin to stop their behavior and eat with proper manners, the parents may take this as an opportunity to give positive feedback and therefore the child will connect good manners with attention; this is a successful way of teaching. However, other parents may believe that it is important to make note of negative behaviors and teach the child why the behavior is not okay in hopes to teach communication and important life lessons. Therefore, ignoring negative actions is not always the best way of teaching.

Continuing with the idea of learning from negative behaviors, it is important to look into our history. Hitler and the Nazis were responsible for massacre and genocide which is an extreme example of a negative action. If history books focused only on the positive actions during WWII and did not discuss the actions of Hitler, then there would be a risk for such behaviors and actions to happen again. By learning about the massacre and genocide, schools and families have been able to teach children about racism, hate and how to prevent such hateful crimes from happening again.

Just as Hitler’s bad actions taught many people about how to not live with hate and discrimination, the Civil Rights movement additionally was full of people engaging in bad behaviors that need not be ignored. During the civil rights movement, people with dark skin were relegated to the sides of society by many people with white skin. Again, if we focused only on the white individuals who helped the discriminated against black individuals, there would be a missed opportunity to learn why racism and hate is hurtful and negative. By not only praising the actions of the heroes of the civil rights movement, but also learning from the bad actions of others, one can learn more thoroughly and address the complexity in our world.

Finally, moving through history and coming to modern day, schools use bullying as a way to teach children how not to behave. If bullying, which is a terrible and hurtful behavior, was ignored and only praise was given to the children who weren’t bullying, there would be more space for the bullies to take and act out. Instead, bullies are punished and hopefully receive help to understand why they are behaving the way they are; the hope in paying attention to negative actions is to teach others how not to behave.

In conclusion, giving praise to those engaging in good behaviors is undeniably important and necessary; however, it is equally as important to look at bad actions as a learning opportunity. If our society ignored all negative behaviors, we would live in a world with many missed opportunities to learn and grow. As we are taught as children, it is important to learn from your mistakes.