The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones
In the statement, the author is saying the best way to teach is by praising positive
actions and ignoring the negatives. As per my opinion relying on just a single teaching
method is not a good way because of that I mostly disagree with the author.
Firstly, life is not always about positive things. There are a lot of obstacles we overcome
in our daily life Sometimes we have to focus on the negative aspects of our lives so that
we can improve and bring out the best in ourselves. For example, If the elementary school drawing
teacher is just focusing on the colors and not analyzing and showing the mistakes to a child
then it might possible that child will not try to improve even if he is having great potential.
Here there is loss of a child because he didn't receive proper guidance regarding his drawing.
Moreover, If we just focus on the positive aspects we might never improve. A person who is
learning is improving every day but he doesn't just improve by focusing on pleasant aspects.
He needs some guidance that tells us what he is doing wrong that will help him to figure out
his mistakes and master the skills he wanted.
Furthermore, there are various teaching techniques for informing someone what's wrong
without actually insulting them. Knowing negative things about a person can help him to
to be a better person. So teachers should not hide negative things they should embrace them
and talk it out with students, That will help students to improve.
But while we are focusing on negative things we should also complement their progress
cause knowing negative things about oneself might make that person think that he is not
good and may lead to mental problems such as depression. Therefore teachers should not just
criticize the students they should also praise them for their progress.
Lastly, I'd say being the appropriate amount of focus on negative as well as positive is needed
for a person to be successful for didactic methods we should focus on something which is a amalgamation of both
praising good things as well as pointing out mistakes and correcting them will help
students as well as professors for improvement.