The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Today everyone is ready to praise someone for their positive actions and reluctant to point out the negative ones. But that is not something a teacher, parent or good friend of someone should do. For a person to become well rounded in his behavior both are needed praise and admonishment. Therefore students should be told of their negative actions while praising the positive ones.

Take the case of a student he might be good at studies and sports, but at the same time his behavior towards classmates is very rude. While praising about his performance in studies and sports he should be shown that the way he behaves with his peers is not the right way. If he is not made aware how his actions are not acceptable he would have trouble in his future life. For example, when he is at a job even though he performs well at his work, when there is a chance for promotion he might not be considered, because of his rude attitude. Here we can see how a person if not made aware of his negative actions, proved harmful to him for getting a recognition that he deserved.

When someone is made aware of his negative behavior it helps him to become a well rounded person. If positive actions are alone praised, he will only concentrate in them and only try it make those actions better. But when he is also made aware of the negative ones he will give attention those actions also and try to correct it. If such a step was taken by the teachers of the student mentioned in the previous paragraph, he would have got the promotion that he deserved.

The reason some sight for ignoring the negative actions of someone could be that pointing out negatives will make the person sad and feel bad about themselves. It is true, it will make them sad and feel bad about themselves, but this is for a short time only. As he improves those actions he will find that how better his life became, and he will be thankful to the teachers that made him realise those actions.