Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

Teaching becomes effective only when there is exchange of ideas from both sides that is from teachers to students and from students to teachers. When such an exchange is obstructed in class it leads to many problems in political, cultural and intellectual aspects of society therefore students should definitely question what they are taught.

A fascist or authoritarian government first attacks the universities of the country. They try to disseminate their ideas into the minds of young through college. The best example is Germany. When Hitler was made the leader of Germany, one of the first steps that he took was to appoint Nazi supporters in key posts of the universities in the country. Through such a step he tried make place for the Nazi ideology in the future generation of Germans. He was successful too in his efforts. Many young students of college were attracted to his Nazi party. The effects of the influence of Nazi ideology in the universities was responsible for the strong support he received in the country. If the students questioned what they were taught rather than just accepting what their professors taught them, Hitler would not have gathered such support in the country.

Further, education has the objective of developing the reasoning and analytical abilities of the students. Questioning of what they are taught in the class would help them develop these essential skills. For example, there is two ways for a student to learn the Newtons third law "Every action has an equal and opposite reaction". First just mugging up that statement and accepting that whatever the professor taught is true. Second, the student could brainstorm him with questions like, how is that possible, is it universal, is it observable, how did Newton come to such a law. A student analyzing the law by the second method is sure to understand it conceptually and develops the earlier mentioned skills.

A dissenting voice is usually beneficial to the development of civilizations. For example, there was a time when people believed that the Earth is flat, the Earth is the centre of universe etc. All these theories were later proved to be false. What would have happened if no one objected these ideas and accepted these ideas without questioning their teachers. We would have never learned so much about the universe. We should be thankful to those dissenting voices for the development of our society.

In classes questioning could pose some obstruction to lectures, or some students could use them merely to irritate their professors. Then also the advantages these questioning outweighs the disadvantages.

So students should question what they are taught, as it needed to check the political and intellectual growth of any society.