"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large." Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your o

When we take the newspaper everyday we see atleast one scandal every day.How some corporations accquired huge profits at the expense of the country.Therefore the desire of corporations to maximize profit does conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.

In today's world corporations are in the run to increase their profits and they are ready to do anything for their success, they do not care about the path they take to achieve it. The best example for this is the pharmaceutical companies.Most of the medicines that are currently availiable in the market are priced two or three times their cost, this is a clear case of exploitation of the helplessness of sick people and their family.These companies know that people will do what it takes to help their loved ones.The price of medicines is just a tip of the iceberg, most of these overpriced drugs are of poor quality or their major side effects are obscured from the people, which results in a person eating a medicine to alleviate a disease becomes affected with another one because of the side effects. Then there is the oil companies and coal companies not following safety precautions that they need to follow during the extraction of these resources, all because they need to cut some cost to increase their profit, and where does it lead the environment? to degradation.If we are to take look at the surrounding places of coal fields, we can see that the ground water is polluted, there is lack of fresh air, loss in fertility of the soil, and the list goes on.

Then there is some corporations trying to influence the policies of governments so that they could have more money.Whenever an environment committie is setup to study a vulnerable habitat. The corporations depended on that area suddenly jumps into the scene, trying to bribe the members of the team there by persuading them to make recommendations that are in no way harmful to their operations in the area, here also the loss is for the people and the environment.

We can say that the when the corporations of a country flourish there is growth in the economy of the country, but is this economic growth uniformly distributed to the people of the country, that is what we need to address and the answer is no.But there is only loss to the environment and health of the people.

The Corporations in their greed of money destory the environment and health of people of a country therefore there is conflict with general welfare of people at large