The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

It always not necessary that the youth should be the symbol of contemporary culture, hence studying the youth will will not help understand the present day culture.

If we look at the western countries we can see that the population mainly consist of senior citizens. These counties therefore are having an ageing population. Hence if we are studying the youth of these countries we will not be able to tell much of the contemporary culture, as they are not a significant percentage of the current population. Studying the elderly population of the country could shed more light on the present culture. The way these people are living, what can kind of art they like, the music that raise their interest, will tell of the contempory culture.

One of the main factors which determine whether a new style or fad gets accepted by the people and find a place in their culture or not is, to whom these new style is appealing. Some will be appealing to the young and some to the elderly. If it is acceptable to the majority population it will become part of the present day culture, otherwise it will die out. As cultures are mostly determined by the majority. If we take a look at the history of any civilizations its culture indeed is determined by the majority. We human beings are social creatures we need some kind of acceptance from the society, so a style to be part of culture it should be endorsed by the majority.

Studying the youth helps in studying culture if they constitute the majority of the population. In such a population the dominant culture will be driven by the youth.

These styles could be anything from way of dressing to likeness for a particular genre of music. Thus in this case it proves useful in studying youth to understand the contemporary culture of the society.

In conclusion the contemporary culture is determined by the dominant percentage of the population. Therefore studying the youth will not always provide information about the contemporary. It will be useful only when youth is the dominant population of society under consideration. Hence studying the youth will not always give information of the contemporary culture.