"When someone achieves greatness in any field such as the arts, science, politics, or business-that person's achievements are more important than any of his or her personal faults." Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion state

This is a troubling question faced by the socities for a very long time and is still faced. No one in this world is perfect, therefore everyones good side should also be considered rather than focussing on his mistakes. Hence, a person's achievement should be given more importance than his mistakes.

Take an example, a great physicist, his contribution to the field is immense, while considering for an award in his field, importance should be given to his contributions in the field of physics. His personal mistakes should not be considered here, like whether he has a drinking problem, drug addiction etc. The award is considering only his contributions in the field and the person as a physicist and not for the moral principles he upholds. If we are to look for faults, there is no one who have not made a mistake in his life.

The acheivements and faults of the person can have no relation between them. The faults he had comitted may be because of his environment. The drinking problem of a person could be ascribed to the problems he face in his family life, the irascible nature of a person may be the result of a strict childhood he had, a person frequently talking to people in a condescending manner maybe because of his insecurities. For all these faults he has, he alone may not be responsible, but the achievements are result of his hardwork and should not be ignored for the faults he was not alone responsible.

There are some situations when persons faults are to be considered when giving importance to his achievements. For example when a scientist comes forward with a new breakthrough in his field, the theory put forward by him should be throughly analyzed. As whether he deliberately distorted the results for a particular results, or whether he stole the idea from someone. If he had commited any such mistakes, his other achievements should also be under scrutiny. This could be generalised in any field. If the achievements and the faults have direct relation then importance should not be given those achievements as it could be the result of some misdoing from the person.

Therefore the importance should be given to achievements of the person than his personal faults.