The best way to teach — whether as an educator, employer, or parent — is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The best teacher is one who understands a person and can help him or her fulfill their goals by giving perfect advice, while motivating the students serves as a driving force for the students in their actions, not correcting them while making a mistake may lead to serious consequences. The prompt recommends that the best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore the negative ones. In my opinion, I disagree with the suggestion and argue that ignoring the negative actions can lead to various issues for the following reasons.

To begin, if anyone teaching anything to somebody starts ignoring negative actions made by them, it will lead to the person not knowing about the misconduct and they will make it a habit. For instance, if a kid in his teenage scoring extremely good marks during his schooling, uses harsh and abusive language while talking to elders, is only praised by his family members for the good numbers while his language is avoided, it will become his habit to continue doing the same for the rest of his life. The above example illustrates, how just not reprimanding a child and making him realize his negative actions make his character not a good fit for society.

Further, only praise for the good actions and no action for the negative ones will lead to the development of a person who is extremely self-proud and arrogant in nature. Think of praise as food, food is only good for the body in the right quantities, eating extra of which leads to obesity, in the same way too much praise without any criticism for wrongdoings, will make a person overbold and egotistical. For instance, a worker in the factory working very hard, helping other new workers to understand the working of the factory is praised by the owner every month and given an appraisal for his good deeds. The worker soon starts working only for the praise and loses interest in the work he is considered to do, eventually leading him or her to become addicted to praise. This illustrates how only praise and no action against misconduct bring about losing interest in a particular job.

Of course, it is true that praise leads to motivation which serves as a reason for people to work hard, and sometimes, ignoring the negative actions makes a person understand his fault, but in the end, there needs to be a balance between the two. A person should be praised for the good deeds and reprimanded for the bad deeds by the teacher and then only he or she may be a quick learner in life.