Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area. The manager has come to this conclusion based on the experience of the WCQP radio station in Rockville when it decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcasts, leading to an increase in the audience significantly. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, don’t the trend and the choices of people change in a period of two years? In other words, circumstances two years back would have been different than the current situation. It is possible that people have had enough of call-in advice programs- perhaps people are waiting for something new to be launched. It is also possible that WCQP is already planning to launch some new programs to further increase the audience share in the area. If either of these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are the audience living in Rockville and Medway similar in nature? The manager prematurely assumes that he will gain the same attention from the people in Medway as in the case of people in Rockville when the Call-in advice program was launched. However, this might not be the case. It is possible that people in Rockville are younger in age and need more advice in their daily life while people in Medway are older and capable and bold enough of making their own decisions without any piece of advice. It may also be possible that people in Medway don’t like the trend of call-in advice programs. If the above is true then the argument does not hold water.

Additionally, is a nationwide survey indicating quite a few people interested in listening to call-in advice programs enough to start the programs on a large scale at a particular place? It might be possible that the survey does not ask about the choices of people instead, people are insisted to choose between the options available to them. It may be the case, that out of the majority of people stating their interest in such programs, many might be residing in the Rockville itself while only a few of them are residing in the Medway. If so, is the case, then the argument presented is rife and with assumptions.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the manager is able to answer the three questions above and offer some more evidence and facts regarding the same, then it might be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to increase the number of call-in advice programs in Medway.