The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Modern society provides us a lot of chances to live in another society far from our hometown to experience a totally different culture. But before actually going to be part of that society, we had better to understand its characters first. It is an interesting but also intricate problem for us to find out the best way to understand the characters of a society. In this statement, the author argued that the best way to understand the characters of a society is through a detailed examination of its heroes or role models. However, though there are some merits in this argument which I appreciate, I do insist that there are other ways to understand a society’s culture, and it is oversimplified to only focus on the role models of a society in order to figure out its culture and character.

Some people in favor of this argument may dispute that since a man/woman is regarded as a hero in this society, he/she must possess the most laudable personalities that all the members in this society respect and admire. I have to admit that this is quite true. For example, if a firefighter who have sacrificed his own life in order to save other people in a fire, and he was praised as a hero by everyone in this society, it would be intuitive that the society must value bravery, self-sacrifice and commitment to others’ interests as precious and admirable personalities. Therefore, it is undeniable that we can find out the most cherished characters in a society by observing its heroes.

However, are those heroes the only ones that represent the society’s most cherished characters? Hardly. For instance, by inspecting a normal family, we may find out that the parents tried to teach their children to be integrate and honest in a lot of tiny details in their everyday life. Nevertheless, it would be absurd to call the parents in this family as “heroes”, but we do get a hint by digging into normal residents’ daily life, which tells us some of the society’s most accepted characters.

In addition to that, are those cherished characters the only ones that represent the society’s characters? Again, hardly. The word “character” itself has such a broad range of meanings that can hardly be regarded as only those widely cherished personalities. To exemplify that, take a popular trend in a society as an example: if quite an amount of people in a society enjoy living in the countryside instead of in a big city, it might indicate that people in this society prefer a quiet time within the nature, and the would like to lead a relaxed pace of life instead of a hectic one in a big city. This kind of preference of relaxing lifestyle can also be considered as a typical character of a society, which in turn shows us that through inspecting to the residents’ daily life and the social trends, we can also find the characters of one society, instead of by focusing on its heroes only.

To put it together, it is reasonable to examine the characters of heroes for the purpose of figuring out the characters of the society as a whole. However, depending on this approach only, it would be biased and incomplete. By observing regular people’s life, as well as some trends in the society, we can also find a lot of interesting characters of this society which are probably not discoverable from the images of those heroes.