Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

From the word “scandal” itself only, it impress people with a negative and filthy feeling that it relates to some figures’ immoral behaviors in their lives or guilty activities during their work. Yet, from a reversal perspective, some people argue that scandals can exactly unveil those problems in our society. Some idea even goes further and insist that through scandals problems can be solved more efficiently comparing to traditional reformers or speakers could have done. From my perspective, scandal sure is a possible way to find out problems in our society, but depends on it only and overlook other means could result in a disaster.

The most compelling argument against my position could be that once there is any person involved in a social reforming process-name it a speaker or a reformer-the direction of this process will more or less be driven from public benefits to the interests of some specific affiliations, thus makes reforming less efficient or even totally goes to the wrong way. They may fatherly argue that a scandal works as an objective conception that involves no personal interests but reveal social problems only.

That being said, I have to admit that scandals do works properly in some situations, while the actual result depends a lot on how our society uses and reacts to those scandals. For instance, if a scandal about an officer taking advantage of his/her position and receiving bribery from criminals, through the revealing from the media, this scandal could accelerate the process of this officer being prosecuted and facing the justice, which is a good scenario showing the efficiency of scandals. Nevertheless, some politicians might also forge some non-existent scandal to attack their political opponent. By taking advantage of people’s sense of justice, they may even put some pressure on the legal system and get what they want. As has been showing in the totally different examples, we can draw a conclusion that a scandal is indeed an objective tool for our society, and it may be used to reveal problems or could also be used to “create” problems. It is the way how we use it defines it’s degree of efficiency, thus making the claim that scandals are more efficient over other approaches of reforming unjustified.

Another premise that the “scandal first” claim based on is that only through revealing the misbehaving of people in power can our society make progress and provide a better social environment for citizens to live in. However, this is also not totally true. It is undeniable that some people’s wrong-doings amongst our political system, our education system, or any parts in our society will be detrimental to its efficiency and put a bad impact on our quality if life. However, there are also different problems that lead to the same impacts. For example, the structural inefficiency in our medical system, the policy that just not suit the reality well, or that the economical advancement is just not abundant enough to suit everyone’s needs. Those problems has nothing to do with some one’s wrong-doings, thus makes scandals not helpful at all in helping us out. Ironically, speakers or reformers who can inspect and reveal those problems plays a much more efficient role in those situations comparing to through scandals only.

To put it together, scandals is beneficial for our society to reveal wrong-doings of people in power, but it could be abused for other purposes and it is not suitable for all kinds of our social problems. Only through the combination of different kinds of approaches can we tackle different types of problems in our society and provide a better and more promising environment to our people.