Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws play an important role in modern society, as they protect people’s rights and keep our society operating at a peaceful and efficient pace. Nevertheless, our society is an extremely sophisticated set in which everyone and everything is so unique that there is no way to include all those details in the laws. Following this idea, some people argue that laws should be flexible enough so that we can find a reference in laws no matter how special and unique situation we have encountered in the real life. To some extent, I agree with the idea that we should allow some variances within laws, but we should also take very careful steps when deciding how “flexible” our laws are going to be.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that our society is too intricate to be confined within a limited set of detailed clauses consisting “the laws”. We can easily find similar cases in the history that resemble what is going on right now. Nevertheless, despite all the similarities, no exactly the same stories could be found again: the people who got involved, the incentives that triggered the case, or the whole society itself, have always been constantly changing and are going to stay changing in the foreseeable future. As the saying goes, “you can never step in the same river twice”. As a result, we have no choice but allow some flexibility in our laws so that they can be applied to most of the cases that happens in our society, otherwise our judges would have no way to refer to any clause in the laws as they are too specific that some of those details will always contradict to the actual facts thus being inapplicable.

That being said, we also have to focus on the primary functionality of the laws per se: they are meant to ensure justice in our legal system. Laws determines what are the rights that every citizen in our society enjoys as well as what are the crimes that are strictly forbidden and of which the conductor will be punished as a consequence. In this sense, laws draw a clear line which sets apart wrongdoings and their counterparts, so there bears no ambiguity among all the definitions and criteria within laws. For example, when defining “sexual harassment”, if the law allowed some ambiguity like “behaviors containing sexual implications that offends others”, some people might argue that their intention contains no sexual implications as “behaviors containing sexual implication” is not clearly defined. As a result, people clearly conducted crimes might manage to circumvent the punishment of justice within our legal system.

To make a conclusion, from those two perspectives above, the reality determines that we can by no means create a set of laws that include every detail of cases in the actual intricate society, whilst we should also not allow too much ambiguity that people can take advantage of and circumvent their due punishment, so I argue that the legislators should try to find the balance point between specificity and flexibility that suits our society the best.