As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Human history is a history about exploring the unknown and accumulating knowledge. Ironically, it seems that the more we learn about, the more incomprehensible the world gets to be. As is argued in the statement, our world even becomes more “complex and mysterious” every time when we figure out something new. However, I have to argue that this statement is quite biased and unreasonable, and my reasons are as following.

First of all, the author mentioned comprehensibility and complexity regarding the world. However, I have to point out that complexity does not necessarily lead to incomprehensibility. There are so many examples in history which deomonstrate that human beings have the capacity of comprehending intricate concepts. For instance, before inventing the very first airplane, it was just so difficult and challenging for humans to figure out the secrets of flying. Though some other species like birds are born with the ability to fly, it seemed just impossible for us as humans. Nevertheless, with hardwork and dedication from generations after generations, airplane was invented and it even becomes a common way of transportation nowadays. Thus, I argue that incomprehensibility under complexity is just temporary, with time and efforts, anything will be comprehensible.

In addition to that, the author also argued that the more knowledge we learn, the more complex the world will be. However, this is definitely a subjective feeling rather than an objective fact. The world might be changing rapidly, but the basic rules that dominate the world always stay the same. For example, the rule that defines how asteroids circles a star is always the same as how it was since the very first star-gazer. We may have proposed thousands of theories to explain that and finally concurred at a specific one, but the true rule is always there, and never change a bit no matter what. As demostrated above, the rules that run the world is always there, and they have not and will not change according to how we perceive the world.

Last but not least, I also have to mention that the author’s claim that the world will become more mysterious when we acquire more knowledge is also biased. I have to admit that it is quite true that new mysteries will pop up when we understand something new, but it is also undeniable that we have comprehended some problems which are mysterious to us before. In the proccess of learning about the world, it is always the case that old mysteries will become understandable and new mysteries will show up and drive us to try to understand them. This is a self-perpetuation proccess and it is oversimplified and biased to claim that the world is always becoming more mysterious.

To put it together, this statement misunderstood the relationship between incomprehensibility and complexity, decribed a subjective feeling which was not true, and oversimplifies the self-perpetuating proccess of how we perceive the world.