Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this statement, the author questioned the validity of the claim that the Palean baskets are only made by Palean people. The author based his/her induction on a new archaeological discovery: a Palean basket is found in an ancient village Lithos, which is segregated from the village Palea by a wide and deep river. Considering there was no signs of boat found in the village Palea, the author argued that Palean people had no means of crossing the river thus the newly found “Palean basket” is made by the people in Lithos on their own, and consequently putting the “Palea originated Palean basket” theory questionable.

Though the author based his/her induction on some archeaological facts, I have to argue that there are several questions remaining unanswered and more evidences are required if the author want this induction to be more grounded and reasonable.

First of all, the author claimed that Palean people “would” have a hard time crossing the river without a boat, because the river “is” wide and broad now. The tense differences here clearly indict the questionable induction. We still need more evidence to convince us that the river “was” also deep and broad at the ancient time of those two villages. However, if geological evidence shows us that the river was not that deep or wide at that time, or even the river did not exist at all during that period, the author’s claim would be heavily weakened and thus making his/her conclusion questionable or even invalid.

In addition to that, even if we concede at the hypothesis that river was always that wide and deep, the author’s induction based heavily on the fact that there is no sign of boat in the Palea village, so they villagers should have no way of crossing the river. The most questionable judgement here is that only by boat can those people cross this river. Nevertheless, if evident comes out to be that those villigers had an amazing ability at building strong and stable bridges, this would be a detrimental clue to the author’s claim. In other words, we still need more evidence to prove that only by boats can those villagers cross the river, and if it proved not true, the author’s statement would undoubtedly be unwarrented.

Finally, with a more detailed scrutiny, another very rudimentary assumptions still requires evidence to justify it: Whether or not these two villages were actually the same tribe but in different times. In other words, since there is no evidence that these two villages existed in the same period of time, they might have migrated from the village Palea to the village Lithos, and this would perfectly explain that why the distinct “Palean bastket” have been found in the village Lithos as well. If new evidence indicts that they were actually the same tribe, the author’s claim will also be heavily weakened.

To put it together, we still need more evidence to prove that wether the river was also broad and deep during that period of time, whether by boat is the only way for the villagers in Palea to cross the river, and whether village Palea and village Lithos were actually the same tribe. Only after the illumination of these questions by new evidences, can we draw a farther conclusion that if the author’s claim is valid and reasonable.