While the Department of Education in the state of Attra recommends that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this statement, the author questioned the usefulness of a recommendation from the Department of Education in the state of Attra, in which students are recommended to be assigned homework daily. To support his/her argument, the author referred to a statewide survey of high school math and science teachers. Specifically, the author took the data of the district of Sanlee and the district of Marlee as his examples. In the former district, 86 percent students are assigned 3-5 times of homework per week comparing to less than 25 percent students with the same frequency in the latter district. Nevertheless, the students of the latter district outperformed the former one in the criteria of overall grades and possibility to take an additional school year. With this counterintuitive result, the author argue that teachers should assign homework less than twice a week instead of recommended daily basis. Though seeming to be reasonable with all the data as a backup, the whole induction is based on several questionable presumptions, which will be detrimental to the whole argument if proved to be unjustified.

First of all, the survey referred by the author was based on math and science teachers. However, the author extended the subject frontier and made his/her suggestions to all teachers in their high schools. The premise here is that this kind of subject generalization is reasonable and grounded. However, it is not necessarily true in reality. For example, in the field of literature and writing, if students do not have enough homework to practice their newly learned writing techniques, it is intuitively not possible for them to solidly master those skills, not to mention managing to use them in the future. The whole course will become more of a reading practice course instead of a writing one. In a word, courses are not mutually similar and some of them need more practice after the limited contacting hours in the class if students want to do well in these subjects, which requires more homework.

Another assumption the author implied in his induction is that after school homework frequency is the only changing variable and every other variables stays the same between those two districts mentioned by the author. Yet, this assumption is also hardly to be proved true. Since they are two different districts, too many other factors could influence those students performance besides the after school homework frequency. For example, the teachers teaching style and ability, the quality of infrastructures in those schools (such as lab equipments) and even the neighborhood atmosphere toward education could to some extends if not a lot influence students’ school performance. If the outperformed district turns out to have better teachers, better infrastructures and more attention to education in the neighborhood, the combining effects of all those factors will make the results hard to explain thus making the induction of the author unreliable.

If we take a more careful scrutiny, we will find a even more questionable assumption: the author are talking about the frequency of students’ homework, as if more frequent homework implies more workloads after school. This assumption is also not necessarily true. A teacher may assign a less frequent homework while he/she could also increase the workload of the homework each time and still balance the overall workload. In this case, it is not necessarily important how frequent teachers arrange their homework but the overall workloads will really take effects, which consequently makes the argument of the author about how many times should teachers assign homework per week to improve students’ performance a neither reasonable nor important aspect to consider.

To put it together, the author based his/her induction on assumptions of subjects generalization, variables comparability between schools of different districts, and equality between homework frequency and actual workloads, thus making the whole induction unwarranted and questionable.