Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is undeniable that nowadays people get information about almost everything from the mass media, and most of us depend heavily on that. Among this atmosphere, the statement claims that no living man or woman can stand a chance to be regarded as a hero, since the close scrutiny from these media will eventually destroy their shining figures. Personally, I partially agree with the author’s reason that the image of those heroes would be influenced in a bad way to some extent under those close scrutinies. However, I argue that under this circumstances, it is possible that people still treat someone as a hero.

First of all, for the reason part, I have to admit that mass media nowadays tend to dig really deeply to find out something really bizarre or even immoral of someone currently under the spotlight, so that the media could use those clues to catch people’s eyes and make a fortune from that. This interests-driven atmosphere would somehow be detrimental to people we recognized as a hero initially. For example, if a firefighter sacrificed his life to save people in fire, intuitively we would call him a hero. However, some media might have done a really detailed investigation about him and found out his adultery in early years. This would of course distain his figure and some people might hesitate to count him a hero since he was not a perfect role model. Examples like this are actually quite common in a lot kinds of fields. Considering this, I agree that targeted by the scrutiny of the media, heroes tend to somehow lose their colors.

That being said, I also have to argue that this is not always the case, and there are always different voices among people and among media. Thanks to the First Amendment, people as well as the media have their rights to express what they think about everything. Not necessarily every media will focus only on their interests and overlook a hero’s precious quality. So is it with people who have their independent judgement and undertanding of heroes. It is exactly because of those different ways of perceiving the world, our society would be filled up with different or even contradictory voices, thus making it impossible for everyone to overlook someone’s heroic doing only because of his/her some other wrong-doing.

Based on the analysis on the reason, I strongly disagree with the conclusion: although those heroes might have something not perfect or even scandals regarded as immorality, it will not cover up their doings which make them a hero. Still take the firefighter as an example: he sacrificed himself to save others, and that is what makes him an hero. He might have other problems but those problems can by no means change the objective fact which make people admire him and regard him as a hero. No one is perfect, those minor defects makes these people real human beings.

To put it together, I partially agree with the reason that media’s scrutiny upon people would have a negative impact on a hero’s image, but will by no means totally destroy this person as a hero; besides, I strongly disagree with the conclusion, because those minor defects make a person a real human being and cannot cover up people’s shining personalities.