Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

There are a lot of aspects that could be used as an indicator to tell if a country is great or not. However, they also raise a heated discussion about what is the best indicator of the greatness of a country. It this statement, the author claims that the welfare of the people is the most import factor that decides the nation’s greatness, comparing to the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists. Though there are some merits in this claim, I would argue that all those factors contribute to the greatness of a country, and it would be oversimplified and biased to claim that any one of them is superior to the rest.

First of all, I have to admit that the welfare of the people does play an important role in determining the greatness of a country. The most rudimentary function of a country is to unite its people to work toward a common goal and in turn benefiting every of its members. Taking this into consideration, it would be ridiculous to promote arts, science or the government if numerous people are in the state of hunger or unemployment. With this in mind, if a country is to be called a “great” one, the government have to put the well-being of its citizens at the very top of its agenda.

That being said, it is also undeniable that science, arts and the efficiency of the government are also important factors in determining whether a country would be considered great. For instance, if a country possesses abundant amounts of resources to meet its citizens’ needs, but there is basically no science nor arts developed in this country, we would probably call this kind of society a “primitive society” instead of a developed “great” one. Thus, if we rule out every other factor that may be taken into consideration about a nation’s greatness but keep the welfare of the people only, it might turn out to be an absurd situation that no one would actually consider this country “great”.

With those two aspects being considered separately, I have to point out that the welfare of a nation’s people, as well as the achievements of artists, scientists and the rulers, is not necessarily mutual exclusive. Quite the contrary, they are actually tightly connected with each other. For example, we in most cases consider health care as an important part of social welfare in modern society. Nevertheless, if the status of science, especially biology and chemistry are underdeveloped, how can we provide people adequate solutions to fight against diseases? Likewise, it is also not possible to provide people a satisfactory spiritual life without the presence of arts. Nor can we maintain the order of the society if the government is corrupted and the ruler is ignorant. Thus, all those factors are critical in providing people a proper welfare and further determining the greatness of a nation.

To put it together, though the welfare of the people is a very import factor that decides a nation’s greatness, I also maintain that the achievements in the field of science, art and governing, are also tightly related to people’s welfare and plays an important role in determining the greatness of a country.