Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Upon the dispute that whether or not should the educational institutions to persuade a student to his/her “best-matched” field of study, exponents insist that it would be a great way for students to find their expertise and save the limited educatioanl resources in the mean time. However, I argue that educational institutions may offer students information and suggestions based on their personalities and expertises, whilst it is not those institutions position to persuade or dissuade someone to purse or give up any field of study.

The most compelling argument against my position might be that since the complehensive data of one student and experience from earlier cases have suggest that one field of study is not promising for the student, the educational institution should try their best to dissuade the student to persue other majors instead, otherwise it would be a waste of time for the student and a waste of resources for the society since they are not likely to be successful in this field. It seems to be rather convincing to use dedicately organized data to predict something in the future, but I have to argue that there is an important premise in this logic: in the future, most of the important factors that determine a student would succeed or not stay the same. Only when this premise is ensured, can we be sure about that all these predictions are reliable and accurate. Nevertheless, our world are rapidly changing nowadays, half of our knowledge learned today will be out of date every five years, not to metion the criteria of “possibilities of success” based on history in the past.

Another important assumption in the aforementioned argument requires that every important factor that might contribute to one’ s success is thoroughly considered in this “prediction system”. Unfortunately, this assumption is usually not well-grounded. Since there are so many merits within one’s personalities that plays a subtle but necessary role in determing one’s future, they are not easily “detectable” for the educational institutions to base their predictions on. For example, how would this student perform under loads of pressure? How is the student’s time management skill? How would the student react upon failures? How interested is the student in this field of study? Those are important personal variables that might influence one’s success, but they took a lot of efforts and resources for the institution to find out by digging into students’ lives, thus made it impossible to be executed national wide, which in turns makes the “prediction system” unreliable.

That being said, I have to make it clear that I am not saying that educational institution should stay out of the picture when students make choices upon their filed of study. What they should do is instead to give information to students and help them to understant and assess themselves better, so that they can understant those fileds in a more substantial way and judge if they themselves are suitable for those majors. With all these help, students can make their own decisions and be responsible for their choices. Even if they chosed a field they seems not to be perfected matched in the beginning, it might imply that they have great interests there and would like to put more efforts to master in their chosen field.

To put it together, it is a neither reliable nor accurate way to predict a student’s “success possibility” within one field of study. What a educational institution shold do instead is to provide students aboundant information in those fields and help them to introspect about their strenghs and weaknesses, so that they can make their own decision and be resposible for it based on information from the outside world and their self-recognision and self-assessment from their inner worlds.