Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

How should the government prioritize its agenda has always been a heated discussion among citizens. In this statement, the author argue that the government should always put the problems of hunger and unemployment at the top comparing to issues like funding the arts. When necessary, the author even suggest to suspend those funds to arts in order to help the hungry or unemployed people since it is basic human need. I do appreciate some merits in this proposal but I do not agree with totally suspending the governmental funds to arts. Following are my reasons and analysis.

First of all, I have to admit that there should be an order of priorities towards social affairs that the government should pay attention to. It would be against humanity to spend a lot of money on arts while the funds going to people in need are obviously insufficient. Besides, it would also make no sense to develop art industry if numerous people are struggling with insufficient food and lack of job opportunity since no one will turn to arts when his life is at stake. Considering those facts, from the perspective of both humanity and economics, government should spare no efforts to solve the the problem of hunger and unemployment under this situation instead of wasting too much money on arts.

That being said, I have to point out that there are also situations where the government should shift this priority order a bit and take a better usage of social resources. For example, if there are plenty of suitable job opportunities for the unemployed people, but they are too lazy to make money by themselves, and they only want to rely on the governmental funds to support their basic needs, it would make no sence for the government to give up supporting the art industry and enhance the sloth of those unemployed people. Under this circumstance, arts could even play an important role in enriching residents’ spiritual life as well as injecting more vitality in the country’s economics. As has been demonstrated above, when the reason of hunger and unemployment are the subjective choice of those people, it will be a wiser decision for the government to turn to the art industry instead.

From another perspective, funding the industry of arts and solving the problems of hunger and unemployment are not necessarily a pair of mutual exclusions. If the art industry are prosperous in a country, it could promote a lot of relevent industries. For instance, hundreds or even thousands of theaters might pop up and become crowed with people; there might be a lot of music albums released every day; large amounts of foreign tourists might be attracted to this country for its rich culture. These possibilities means a lot of job opportunities as well as financial income for the government, which could in turn be used to solve the hunger and unemployment problems if they still exist.

To put it together, it is understandable and humanitarian to put hunger and unemployment problem at the top priority of the governments’ agenda. However, it would be unwise to totally suspend the fundings to art industry from both the economic and the long-run perspective.