Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Such evidence suggests that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's. This change is sure to result in a dramatic decline in cheating among college students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this statement, the author recommends that all universities should replace their academic honesty policy with honor codes, in which students will be monitored by their peers on cheating, instead of by their teachers. To exemplify his recommendation, the author refers to Groveton College as an example. This college adopted this honor codes and then cases of cheating decreased from about thirty per year to fourteen within five years. Besides, the majority of those students reported to be less likely to cheat with the honor code in place in a recent survey. Though it seems to be reasonable at a first glance, after a close scrutiny, I argue that there are still questions concerning the author’s lines of reasoning before jumping to the conclusion, which could either strengthen the authors claim or make it totally invalid depending on the answers.

First of all, the author attributes the yearly declining numbers of cheating cases to the honor codes, but this causal relationship remains questionable and we need to ask whether there are other factors which could lead to this result. For example, during those five years, if the college adopted other forms of education on the issue of academic honesty-addressed by every professor at the beginning of every semester for instance-it is of equal possibility that could contribute to the declining of cheating cases, since students are more aware of the problem of academical dishonesty after all those addressing.

In addition to that, the author put an equal mark between the number of cheating cases and the actual status of academic honesty, which is also questionable. It is not necessarily true that all cheating behaviors are revealed by students since they are in similar situations and might not report each other’s misbehaviors. For example, in some cases, students might even work together to cheat in an exam, which makes it much unlikely that they would report each other.

Last but not least, the author takes the survey as an important indicator that students would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place. However, this survey is answered by students themselves and the integrity still remains to be checked, which is also another question to be answered. For instance, if the answer turns out students might tell the opposite idea of what they actually thought about in the first place, just because they want to show their honesty within this interview even though they cheated in a course before, the validity of this survey will then be unconvincing and the author’s reasoning would be problematic.

To put it together, though based on actual data and survey, the author’s recommendation still remains to be questioned before reaching the conclusion. They validity of his/her recommendation depends heavily on the answers and we can only evaluate this recommendation after those questions are answered through further investigation.