The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The characterstics of a society can never be defined by sole heros. Society represents millions of people. To generalise characterstics of any society one will have to look for their common general behavior. People live different lives, everyone has had a different day, it completely depends on them how they react to any particular situation. There are several more reasons supporting that one should not judge a society on basis of nature of their rolemodels or heros.

To begin with, one man can never represent whole society. Different bringing up teach unique morals, some by examples some by experiences, but these morals result in people having different habits. Take for an example an army officer who is a war hero, he may be very disciplined and fit, also he may have a habit of drinking alcohol in little quantity every day. This should not be used to generalise that most of the soldiers have the same habits. Few may have boycotted alcohol and others might have given up on fitness or discipline.

Also, it depends on several circumstances that made one the hero. Heros are never born, they are made from various decisions they took which resulted in betterment of society. Few rolemodels may be only whistle blowers while others revolutionary scientists. Similarly, popular sports person and actors are known for their skills. The point is that there is versatility every where, therefore it is wrong to infer that rolemodel's characterstics can define a society's charachters. Take for an example, we cannot say that most of the North America behaves the way Mr.Snowden does and uses a blanket to cover their screen while using computers.

Moreover, it is their work that has made them hero not their characterstics. No hero have ever been chosen for display of his ideal characterstics. Its not charactersitcs that make a hero, its attitude which forces one to not give up on the characterstics that define him. If Donal Trump had given up on what he stands for, he might have never gotten elected as president of USA. People never support any particular person, they support what that person represents.

However, heros does define the trends that will be followed. All of us have observed that people tend to follow characterstics of their heros. Once in while media showcases the personality that these heros had and inspires the nation to follow on good aspects of these hero's lives. One such example is Sachin Tendulkar of India. He is named god of circket. Very frequently you will encounter television shows that recapitulate the determination and good qualities he had.

Conclusively, society is a mix of all peoples so should be the way to evaluate it. If one is to judge the nature of any society, he should become a part of it, try to see things the way people in that society see, may be for a small period but it can give very useful insights.