It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What is wrong in recognizing living people as heroes? There are several living examples of heroism around the world. The statement is undoubtedly refutable in general, however some exceptional cases might exist.

To begin with, it makes more sense to accolade heroes for their achievements while they are alive than to appreciate them after they cease to exist. No matter how vastly they get appreciated, it won't make any difference to the dead.

Moreover in contrast to the statement, not regarding living people as heroes may exasperate them. They might feel discorded and indignant because they will expect the society to acknowledge their achievements, rather than pretend that their accomplishments were indifferent.

Additionally, it encourages others to do what is right. When people see others getting recognized, they might covet the respect and popularity, or they might get inspired to adhere these heroes as their ideals. A recent movie released in India, acknowledging the achievements of a women wrestler, has inspired several parents against gender discrimination and kindled an egalitarian approach to study and sports.

However, one can challenge that in this era of internet, heroes will have tough time to live up to the people's expectations after getting the recognition, the expedite access to information may tint the ideal image citizens have about the heroes. For evidence, Mr. Snowden, who blew the whistle over NSA's illegal operations. While many consider him as a hero, there are those who disparage his actions. The consistent focus of media over his past life and his current situation has indeed dented the respect he received in the beginning.

Conclusively, it is important to understand that heroes are not born they are made. Therefore it is equally important to acknowledge their achievements as protecting them from focused attention of media for mere collection of TRPs as they too are normal people with normal life.