The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo from vice president of Health Naturally, states that there new outlet should be inaugurated in Plainsville, several reasons are provided by the vice president to support this suggestion. But this reasoning depends on various assumptions, and this dependency may or may not prove vital for the business.

To begin with, while stating that Plainsville clearly has many health enthusiastic residents, no fact regarding the number of such residents is provided. The headcount of such residents might be too low for a store, selling health food, to make profit. If proven that there is quite a large number of health conscious residents, the fact stands that they might not be interested in buying Health Naturally's products or any health supplement for that matter. It is assumed that they have a predilection of the firm's products.

Moreover, while stating that there is a all time high sales of running shoes and exercise equipment, author has not elicited that these consumers belong to Plainsville. People from neighboring cities might be purchasing these equipment from Plainsville because of dearth of this products in their own city. In such condition opening a store in the neighboring city, where this consumers are coming from, will be more beneficial for the company. Similarly, it is assumed that the members of local health club are Plainsville residents.

Additionally it is assumed that the health club will be conducive in the promotion of Health Naturally's products to the health club members. There is no surety that health club has no other partners for fulfillment of health equipment and supplement demands. Members might end up buying products from club due to proximity. Club's also provide discounts on such products to their members. This will result in tough competition to the Health Naturally's business.

However, anticipated generation of customers, that is the children who are being made aware of health by Fitness of Life program, might prove to be the potential consumers for the health supplement company. But that too is a long shot. The results will be clear only when these children come of age to be eligible to consume additional health supplements.

Conclusively, the assertion that new store would be making profits in Plainsville is rife with assumptions, that depend on peoples preferences, and their failure will result in loss to the company.