The biggest goal of technological advancement is to enhance people’s leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker claims that [the primary goal of technological development is to maximize our leisure time]. Basically, I agree with the speaker’s claim insofar as the term [technology] indicates [the application of scientific discovery]. The term “[technology]” tends to be interpreted in many different ways such as [technical methods] or [modifications of existing techniques]; therefore, defining the term is of vital importance in order to avoid rambling discussion. Having defined the term, it is now clear that [the primary purpose of technological advancement is to make our lives more convenient]. Indeed, If we look around with unprejudiced eyes, we notice that [technologies are solving various problems around us and making our lives convenient].

The chief reason for my agreement with the speaker is as follows: [Unlike achievement-oriented science, technology combines necessary scientific knowledge to make profit]. In other words, [technology is profit-oriented, and to be profitable, the technology must be beneficial to users]. Now if [a device or service created on the basis of a certain new technology does not meet any kind of users’ need whatsoever, the device or service will not make profit].

It must be obvious to anyone’s eyes that [such technological advancement has no realistic values] and if we analyze the [technological advancement taking place in the real world], we realize that [engineers and involved sectors are advancing technologies in such a way that they solve or alleviate problems we are currently experiencing]. This is the reason why I insist that [the primary goal of technological advancement is to make our lives efficient and increase our leisure time]. Let us consider two examples to further verify this assertion.

The first example is [technological advancement in the filed of transportation]. [A series of incessant technological advancements have produced a variety of transportation products – the bicycle, the car, the train, the airplane, to name a few. What the advent of these products, the embodiment of technologies, brought us was nothing but efficiency. Needless to say, efficiency in transportation allowed us to have a considerably larger amount of leisure time].

I next turn to the example of [communication technologies]. [The growth of communication technologies (the telephone, the cell phone, the fax machine, email, etc.) has led to their widespread diffusion and application, thus increasing their economic impact. Efficiency in terms of communication was greatly improved due to these new technologies. We are now able to communicate with each other instantly. Thanks to this swift communication, we are able to allocate an extra slot of our time for our leisure activities].

As shown in the two examples above, [technological advancement does indeed enhance the efficiency of our lives and allows us to have a significantly longer time for leisure activities]. Additionally, it must be noted that [these particular technologies have been created in response to a strong demand]. Had it been the case that [the maximum velocity of an airplane was considerably slower than that of car, who would have used it? In the first place, who would have invested billions of dollars for such absurd undertaking?] [Technologies are advanced because of a substantial demand, and as a result of their effectiveness, we acquire extra time for leisure activities that would be otherwise impossible to have].

In summary, I would like to stress that [technology’s value lies chiefly in its practical use]. [Biotechnology, medical technology, computer technology, nanotechnology, chemical technology, etc., each kind of technology solves a unique problem]. [Without having to worry about, or suffer because of these avoidable problems, we have extra time to do something else]. Thus, [the efficiency brought about by technological advancement maximizes our leisure time].