Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of an action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing that action

An individual always tries to perform an action which shows himself/herself as a good person. The morality of a person is indeterminable if he/she performs an action which turns out to be beneficial. The author claims that an action is morally correct if amount of good result is greater than the amount of bad results from action. In my opinion, i mostly disagree with the prompt as an individual's moral cannot be judged based on the results of an action. Hence, i mostly disagree due to following reasons.

Firstly, a famous author once said that "a person will strive to show oneself as a good person not because his intent of performing an action is good instead people expect good from him". For example, a politician will perform all the dark activities in the shadow but he performs all the good activities in front of the media since his reputation is the most concerned factor determining his carrier. The above example illustrates that the outcome of an action does not signify the moral behaviour of an individual.

Additionally, the author's claim is somewhat true as there are people who are son of the god as they intent to serve for the betterment of the society. For instance, doctors put their best to save a person's life and if he does save one then he is considered as good Shepherd while if he doesn't then hypocrates are the one who chastises him. From the above example, one can infer that an action is morally correct if the results are efficacious. This bolsters the author claim and support the reason of the claim as well.

Further, moral behaviour is often a dubious phenomenon to define and one cannot be in a position to scrutinize any individual's intention as morality is something which cannot be determined by a judgemental eye.

Obviously, there will be some who will argue that the results of an action plays a vital role in producing the correctness of a moral action. However, the rest will assert that a morally correct action fails to determine the intent of a person performing the action. Hence, one should believe in his inner voices and act accordingly and not by performing an action which depends on the current situation.