Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I believe that those people in politics and government should step down after five years except for business and education. Alternating politics and governors because of corruption concerns while remaining the experts of business and education due to their specialties.

Politics and governors fields should alter their incumbent leaders every five years or even shorter, because the power often corrupts people gradually. In the beginning, as a politic wants to win the election, he or she tends to be passionate and have policies to execute to achieve his purpose for helping a whole nation. As time goes by, he or she is likely to be lured by money and become corrupted. For example, Taiwan ex-president Chen Shui-Bian was convicted for his corruption during his 2nd turn of the president around his position for 4 to 8 years. Therefore, we should keep switching politics every particular period of time in order to avoid corruption from happening.

As for education and business field, it is unnecessary to force experts to step down alternatively, because these fields require profession and specialties. For instance, Taiwan Central Bank executive Perng Fai-Nan has leaded banks of Taiwan for more than ten years and he has won as many as 10 tens A+ bank executive recognized by an international institution and this explain his excellent performance even 10 years passed by. His performance has to be reckoned with and he should be kept and stayed on the position so that Taiwan could benefit his contribution.

The naysayers may argue that there are also corruption for the leaders in the education and they should also step down after years. Indeed, there are some people on the top position in the education field corrupted after years as politics do. But, these corruption is likely to be prevented by unveiling the financial status by the government financial report which announces the detailed financial status of the officials of every field yearly. In Taiwan, these financial status of top officials are transparent. Not to mention, the president’s finances could not reflect his or her real status since he or she has the potency to hide money.

Furthermore, they on top position tend to be examined and monitored by a medium. If they do something wrong, the medium is going to report scandals or spread rumors quickly. Additionally, the cost for switching experts in education or business field is higher than politics or governors, because the established strategies and facilities need to be re-built as well as their social network.

In conclusion, politics and government should step down every five years for corruption concern, but fields requiring real professions like business and education could remain on their position for their knowledge and well-monitoring mechanism in the public.