Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Over the years the mankind has been recognizing the need of the hand above for controlling, supporting and directing the path of developing. Apparently, this method had been working for thousands of years and so had the practice of lifelong power in one person’s hands. However, over the last century people started arguing a lot whether this approach is viable and worthwhile or not. While one might be absolutely convinced that this practice is one possible and fruitful, a number of recently published researches confirm au that this is not in fact a case.

Indeed, in the recorded history of the humanity there has been a blizzard of instances when those in power had been in their position too long. As in any field (it doesn’t matter whether you pursue good aims or not) as the time passes you start losing your objectivity and attention. Inevitably there should a significant need of new blood in any direction. To illustrate the point, let’s take a closer look at the education system in the USSR. Despite of the excellent outcomes for decades, it reached it’s limits up to certain extent in some fields since there had not been connection with other countries and interactions with other views. Looking at the introduction and this example, it must seem that the answer is plain as the nose on the face, however, there is the other side of this medal.

Undoubtedly, the briefest reflection on the state of things at the end of the 20th century, which were happening in the education system of the USSR, reveals that notwithstanding already created a strong bone of knowledge and practice, it can be easily subverted by illogical, purposeless actions, modifications and a chain of changes as in authorities’ positions and as well in longstanding approaches. So, someone might ask whether there is solution for it or not, and if so, how it looks like? Presumably, having analyzed all the above-mentioned points it is deemed that there should be a golden midpoint - common awareness among all process’s participants and the whole society not just transferring the comprehensive responsibility to someone in power. So, there must be the common path and involvement (inevitably with some fluctuations in it), that is supported not by the authorities, but as well by people. In this case it would not play a considerable role whether one person has been in power for 5 or 7 years, since each one would have a vote and right to introduce innovations.

In conclusion, it can be easily summed up that there is no one side of anything and there is no need to retreat to Luddite attitude to either conservative way of developing or innovations. While a strong path in any field is powerful, so are fresh views on it.