Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Nowadays people are arguing a lot concerning education systems over the world raising controversial issues from the inequality of opportunities among generations to more micro- issues such as how to build the educational process, whether the interests of students matter or not etc. While one might be absolutely convinced that the last one doesn’t play a crucial role at all, a number of recently published exploration claim that this is in fact a case.

First of all, it should be said that as it has been proved by a blizzard of instances in the history of education, there is quite a considerable correlation between the interest to the subject and the outcome from covering this subject. By the outcome in the previous sentence we mean not the test results or the got mark on a topic rather than comprehensive understanding all small details and convoluted ways of developing of the main theme and ability to modify further appeared through the educational process ideas.

For further covering this issue, let’s take a lucid example which is here the University of Harvard where this fact has been already realized and the commensurate actions have been applied in a real live. As we all know, this university is well-known an incubator of leads of opinions and breakthrough innovators. Moreover, what is interesting and breath-taking is that in certain courses there no any exam for testing material, however there is a strict requirement to make notes and reflections on each part of new information. The main point behind of this is that you are already assumed to read and understand the core material and now you have to be able to apply this info to different appropriate parts of your own life taking into consideration your life experience and interests.

Moving back to the introduction, one could fallaciously conclude that the theme of a subject is not significant at all and that what matters is just interests of pupils. However, it would be a huge mistake since the world has been changing at an unprecedented scale from decade to decade and so have the requirements to skills. Presumably, while educating in cutting-edge fields is powerful, so is taking into consideration interests of students.

Having analyzed all the facts mentioned above, it could be easily concluded that there must be a trade-off between covered themes in the course and urgent issues that disturb students, since without the heart in this process the ultimate repercussion would be so technical, fruitless and not worthwhile.