Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Over the last century the world as we know it nowadays have been changed dramatically by us and this alteration has been lasting still at an unprecedented scale. Were it for this modification and the latest breakthroughs in science, there might have never been such innovation as the Internet, television, radio and etc. Most people are aware that despite of the growing opportunities in communication the tremendous pull of problems is left without the humanity’s attention. The claims linking the problems of the current generation and inability of humankind to be in touch with it, solve them plays on the fact that there is a huge, speedy stream of daily routine, mundane duties covered us and as a result of it we have become new- and information-resistant.

Indeed, the briefest reflection of a usual day of a city person reveal that the flourishment of information concerning the overpollution, climate changing, overpopulation and violation of the human’s rights attack him/her constantly. Moreover, while the pressure from mentioned above issues is crucial, so is information-overloading that the society face every day at work, school, university or even during casual chatting with friends. Inevitably, at the some point the brain stops analyzing all of it and tries to focus just on the essential issues, prominent for surviving right here, right now. Looking back to the introduction, one could claim that outrageous, disgusting, horrendous events – in other words, scandals – or even a contentious, controversial person in some irritating way could be attention-catching.

To illustrate this point, consider the instance with Greta Tumberg, the 16-years old girl from the European union, who rose the question of precarious, hazard lifestyle of the humankind and as well the reluctant actions of the developed countries to solve this issue. It should come no surprise that her performance during the last meeting of the world leaders that took the place in the USA approximately one month ago has made a considerable dissonance among the society. One might argue that this fledgling is too aggressive and young, as well has not have yet the essential experience in the handling the global processes and also there are the other more talented and high-gifted persons whose achievements are deserved to be shedded by harsh light of the media. However, having analyzed the effects created by Greta, it can be promptly realized that while the target to apprise us with details of solving problems is huge, so is the aim to create awareness of the problem and make this irritating sense of dissatisfaction and pendency. Greta did it perfectly.

However, the world has been changing perceptibly and so have the methods of interaction. While the scandals which have a significant impact on us and, consequently the society points out the urgent themes, so are raising gradually the awareness of the issues among generation, reduction of the levity in concern of seemingly distance aspects. There should have been much more tools for educating population and altering the ways of thinking about the external world. Having put in one basket all information above, there would be appropriate to quote the idea of Noam Homskii - if you have access to the Internet, books, education, you belong to the minority which can change the world in the best way.

In conclusion, it can be claimed the world is arduous and versatile. Given the humanity history and all information above, there could not be one universal way to solve the bunch of tasks, issues, aspects. The situation could be ameliorated only in case of changing the attitude to it otherwise the dissolution is waiting for us.