Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.Write a response in which you discuss the ext

In every field those who are in power need to have the right capabilities to be a good leader in that field. Time is an important question, since it might demonstrate that a leader could continue to do a good job or should be changed in order to improve things. Even considering the importance of time, it’s not the best option to fix a certain quantity of years to make these changes. In this sense, a 5 years limit doesn’t mean that we will see quality or improvement in that field with changes of those in power in this fixed amount of time.

It’s possible that people might agree with the possibility of changes in every five years of those that has great responsibilities running a country or a company, for instance. In general, people that supports this possibility has a narrative based in the idea that changes in leadership are crucial to maintain a healthy environment in any field. Governments that has election every five years and that don’t allow the actual elected politicians to run for the office again is viewed by many as an example of good democracies where there is small chances to have an oligarchy stablished in the government since there is a renew in every five years. The same aspect could be used in the example of many companies that could change its CEOS with regularity, since this rotation might signify a maintenance in the creativity and willing to do a good work for the company.

However, this perspective doesn’t sustain itself compared with some evidences that demonstrates that a fixed amount of time to do this transition is not positive to the healthy of any field. Sometimes a leader is too good to remain just five years managing that field, sometimes that leader might be very bad in order to remain five years coordinating that field. Using the example of governments, one can see that some of the most well stablished democracies in the world has a parliamentary system where prime-ministers could stay for many years or only for many months. United Kingdom has many examples of prime-ministers that remained more than five years in power because they were doing a good job in the office. In the other hand, if a politician in this kind of system is not able to deal with the pressures while in office he could be changed by his peers. Now take the example of a democratic regime that has a fixed amount of time like Brazil. When a crisis arrived in the country, it was not possible to change the president in power since the elected one just got elected again. This generate a series of confusions in Brazil culminating in a dubious process that resulted in the elected president leaving office trough a fraudulent process. Had the country the possibility to change it leader without have to amount of years fixed to do the change, probably the country would be in a more stable political scenario than nowadays.

In conclusion, one can be sanguine about changes in the leadership of a certain field with five years regularity. However, we demonstrated that to fix an amount of time could result in negatives outcomes, since it might break a good environment within that field or might keep a bad environment. In this sense, its better to not state a fix amount of time for leadership.