Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Facts are used in every field of study for investigation or making decisions, but they are sometimes misleading. I mostly agree with the claim that information assumed as a fact should not be trusted readily for the reason mentioned (most of the information that people regard as a fact usually turned out to be false ). Also, I contend one more reason in support of the claim in the issue topic. However, the claim might not hold true for every case: sometimes facts are inarguably true.

Firstly, Most of the information we read in an article or newspaper or even course syllabus can be false sometimes. There are numerous examples that bolster the claim that the facts are sometimes mistaken. For example. Previously, the earth is said to be round, but later on, through many investigations and research, the originally thought fact turned out to be falsified. Thus, it can be inferred from the above example that most of the facts initially claimed as a fact are often proved to be false.

Secondly, Many facts are generated without compelling evidence or iota of evidence, and they are most vulnerable to be wrong when carefully judged from various angles. In the history of science, we can find many examples of theories that are being successful in analyzing some issues but later on proved to be wrong when used in different circumstances. Some elements of fluid mechanics initially were touted and used in many fields, but later on, that is found to be unwarranted and obviated later by other scientists.

However, it is not obvious that every fact turned out to be wrong. There are some cases in which facts plays a crucial role to make a wise decision or make a persuasive analysis of any matter. Let us take an example of the police investigation. Police use several facts and evidence about the criminal to identify. Through a rigorous process of examining facts and using them to make several assumptions, it helps them to determine the criminals and arrest those miscreants. Also, many scientists use facts of previous theories to develop new theories or innovations. Thus, not every time the facts are untrue, rather they can be an invaluable asset for analysis.

In conclusion, even though in some circumstances facts are logically treated and use wisely to make important decisions and innovation, due to the falsified nature of most of the facts, which are seemingly true but scrutiny analysis false nature, they should be mistrusted. Thus, because of the above reasons, facts should be mistrusted.