People spend large amounts of time and money on clothes, hairstyles and make up to change their appearance.

Is it important for people to be concerned about the way they look? What are the consequences of focussing on physical appearance?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

A person’s appearance affects what other people think about them and how they view themselves. However, although being aware of your physical appearance can be healthy, there are negative consequences if a person ignores all other aspects of themself or of others.

A person’s appearance is important because it can affect the impression they make on other people. For example, some jobs require interaction with customers and other members of the public and in these situations, a good personal appearance is often expected. In addition, by trying to improve the way they look, people can build their self-esteem and feel more confident about themselves.

On the other hand, some people are too concerned about their image and often spend a large amount of time and money on fashion and beauty products in order to look attractive. Both men and women feel under pressure to look good and as a result, they may make choices that are harmful to their health. For instance, some women choose to have plastic surgery to improve their physical appearance, while some men may take certain drugs to help them develop a large, muscular body.

Another major problem with focusing on external appearances is that it can cause people to judge themselves and others on the basis of appearances alone. As a result, some people may ignore other issues in life such as developing their interests, learning about life and the world, and interacting effectively with others. Thus, physical appearance should only be one small part of a person.

In summary, personal appearance is often important in our work and social life. However, some people can become too concerned about their image and this may lead them to neglect other aspects of their lives.