claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

The statement asserts that skeptic attitude should be taken toward any kind of information which is regarded as facts, because most of the facts will be proven false in the future. Skepticism makes us not to be gullible to everything we heard. However, when we assessed something as a logically consistent information, it is no need to be mistrustful toward the information.

To begin with, in some ideological systems, those in power brainwash the people in order to rule on them. In this case, it is needed for the people to mistrust the data being fed to them by that system. In Nazi Germany, German race was portrayed as the best of human races. Such a racist attitude was disseminating throughout the Nazi Germany, running the gamut from the houses to the educational systems. If the skeptic approach had taken hold in that society, fewer were those who became victim of such a blind racism. Since the skeptical attitude makes us to check the information with our logic and available evidences, people would have soon realized that such a racism is not logically tenable.

In addition, aside political conditions, in most venerated parts of the sciences, merits of questioning has been proven. Rather than being blindly loyal to the same frameworks of the predecessor scientists, questioning the established facts has made the science to leap forward. Consider physics, for instance. For centuries the classic principles of physics were taught as the infrangible principles governing the whole universe. Insisting on the skeptical attitude toward classic principles of Newton, Albert Einstein did not ignore the inconsistency of the orbit of the Mercury with Newtonian laws. Such deviation from Newtonian laws in that orbit is in the scale of a fingertip in the millions of miles. Einstein’s loyalty to his skepticism results for him the theory of the curvature of time and space. The new theory substitutes Newtonian laws and gives rise to a big leap in the science.

However, as far as reason is concerned, regarding the facts as untrue, and waiting for most of the facts to be disproved, does not hold true. When information complies with our logic, there is no need to mistrust it. Human, as a social species, cannot thrive in loneliness. The foundation of any social relation is the mutual trust. Now, when we approach people with such a prejudice that much of the information going to be heard from them would not be valid, we cannot make any social relation. In a long term, it can make us cynic toward others. We will end up in a lonely and miserable life when we become incredulous toward every information.

In short, as discussed, questioning the information which is regarded as facts, where they are inconsistent with the logic and available evidences, is so advisable. However, to make it an overarching rule to approach every information with it, is an overgeneralized thought and renders us cynic and we would end up in a lonely life.