Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing

viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting

views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The statement states that if someone wants to test an argument, he should put it to the test, by using it to try to change someone’s mind. If the argument holds while its being attack, then you’ll know that this argument is justifiable in your opinion. Some people might stand against this argument by saying that you cant know if an argument is true only by seeing if it can endure attacks from other arguments or people. Arguments can sometimes hold their place against an attack only because the one who’s defending it, is good in defending arguments of his own. In addition, the reason can be that the against argument defenders are just weak. On the other hand, I think that the claim is true and that refers to many reasons.

First, in human nature when anyone tries to offend an argument, he tends to bring up every small flaw in that argument. Which implies that if the argument holds against that attack on every flaw and hole in it’s structure, then the argument should be justifiable at least. For example, when me and my friends argue about something like electric cars and their future for example, all of us tend to catch every flaw and every wrong word that any other mentions. Other than it taking so much time, that allows us to mention every side of the argument. And again, if an argument survives that, then it should be true.

Second, when anyone tries to defend some argument for any reason. That person will tend to incline naturally to this argument and get more convinced in it, even if it wasn’t that convincing to start with. Because the arguer will tend to search every where for arguments, evidences and information that refers to the argument, he will earn knowledge in that subject more and more. Which will lead him at the end to believe in that argument even more than before. For example, some of my friends goes to competitions for arguments regularly. In those competitions, every team picks an argument and defend it against the opposing team. They always say to me that whenever they had to pick the argument that they didn’t support. they end up supporting that argument afterwards. Even though they couldn’t disagree more before that competition.

Finally, our brains always tend to convince us with the ideas that we are always subjected to. Even if we didn’t think that one day we would support them.