Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing
viewpoint.
Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting
views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.
Whether valuing one’s own ideas requires challenging them against the views of
others is a contested position. This is problematic when we seek to choose the proper
action, especially when it comes to religious beliefs and political ideals. It seems
though that convincing those who have an alternative perspective on a specific topic
will ultimately be what allows us to recognize the value of our own stance.
Some argue that the values of our ideas are realized without being discussed with
those holding a different point of view. The proponents of this position claim that as
long as we are convinced of our views, then there will be no need to challenge them
by considering the ideas of others. For example, let us consider religious beliefs. One
may argue that it will be unnecessary to establish any exchange of ideas between
different religions, as such exchange will have no effect at all. Religious arguments
are presented in the first place to be upheld by faith and not reason. Accordingly,
such ideas should not be contested and contrasted with others, as that will only lead
to religious tension. Religious tension in the first place is the outcome of dominant
religious groups trying to force their views on others who hold different beliefs.
Nevertheless, it seems it is still necessary to challenge our positions against the
critical arguments especially of those who have an opposing view. The main force of
this argument stems from the claim made by John Stuart Mill of the fallibility of our
ideas. This view has also been advocated by a number of contemporary philosophers,
especially Jurgen Habermas. The recognition that our arguments are fallible will urge us
to continuously consider alternatives while contesting our beliefs against those of others.
In the case of international terrorism for instance, we do believe that considering the view
of others is required. The destruction of the twin towers in New York possibly would not
have occurred if there had been any dialogue between the two contesting parties. The
notion of utilizing terrorism for arriving at particular political goals would be subjected to
thorough criticism. Consequently, those who appeal to terrorism as a legitimate mean to
arriving at ends will in the least recognize the fallibility of their position beforehand. This however can only be done through contesting it against those who hold a different view
and not against those who are already convinced of the legitimacy of terrorism.
Ultimately, it seems that challenging our views against contrasting perspectives
does appear to be the best way to test the soundness of an idea. This stems primarily
for our recognition of the fallibility of our ideas. Therefore, we should always consider
any argument we hold to be contestable. This will prompt us to discuss our ideas
against people who hold opposing views first and foremost in order to see whether
our beliefs are right or not.